Ten Ways to Tell

    Chapter 1 : Destiny
“I just can’t believe it! On the second day of school, he gave us a report assignment due two days after!” Kakai complained. “What does he think we are, brainy zombies?”
“I totally agree with you,” her friend, Jackie, agreed. “What good can possibly come out of this? We’ll learn a thing or two, and that’s it? This is torture!”
“He could have at least given us more time!” Kakai exclaimed.
“If we’re lucky we might finish thi-“ Jackie stopped in midsentence and cried. “Hey! Look at this book!”
“Is it something about Amelia Earhart?” Kakai asked.
“No, it’s something better!” she replied and motioned her friend to come. “Take a look.”
Kakai peered at the little handbook her friend was waving in front of her and read the title out loud. “Ten Ways to Tell… A Lovesick’s Handbook. Hmm…” She took the book from her friend and eyed it again. “I think I might buy this…”
“Oh my gosh! I have a feeling someone’s looking for a soul mate!” Jackie teased.
“I am not!”
“Are too!”
“I am not!”
“Are too!”
“I am not!”
“Are too!”
“Ladies, please! Lower your voices!” A saleslady warned them. “You’re not in a playground!”
“Sorry,” they chorused. Then they got back to their conversation.
“Whatever you say, I’m gonna buy this anyway!” Kakai remarked. “Hey! That rhymed!”
“You really are weird, you know that?” Jackie teased. “Well, whatever, but that’s gonna cost you a hundred and ninety.”
“What?! But that’s my allowance for a whole week!” Kakai declared. “Fine, for the sake of curiosity.”
“Curiosity? More like love and destiny.” She said in a teasing whisper.

~ by yzahbel on June 11, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
